About Me

I sold everything I owned and decided to travel around the world – a gap year, a grand tour, an unexpected journey – to meet people and explore our beautiful planet.

My name is Kirstine Kærn – hard to pronounce & hard to spell, most people call me Christine. I’m 47 years old and from Denmark in the northern part of Europe. A small wealthy country which is considered to be one of the happiest countries in the world.

I have a daughter Sofie who is currently living in London with her boyfriend Rasmus. I sublet their apartment in Copenhagen while they build careers in London. While I’m travelling my friend, Anne Katrine is looking after the apartment and takes care of the one thing I still own – my car.

I have spent more than 20 years working in the IT business, but I might not want to continue doing this kind of work. I’m considering to completely change direction – working with human rights or the UN global goals. I still have at least 20 years left before I can retire which gives me plenty of time to build a whole new career.

I am also Vice President of the Danish Humanist Society which is a humanist life stance organisation in Denmark. We are part of the International Humanist and Ethical Union with member organizations all over the world.

While I’m travelling, I will produce a podcast with interviews with members from these different organisations. I will talk to humanists, freethinkers and atheists all over the world about how it is to be a non-believer in a religious world and their life stories. The purpose is to give non-believers a voice and a sense of community.

You can follow me on this blog or on Instagram.